NYX Beauty School Dropout Alumni Palette – The Whole Shebang!

If you recently saw my What I Got for Christmas post then you’d have seen that I mentioned that I was going to do an unboxing, tutorial and first impression of this palette!

I was SO excited to receive this for Christmas as I’ve never owned any NYX makeup before and from everything I’ve seen about them, they’re generally a pretty great brand!

However, I’ve only ever seen one review of this palette, by Diahnet Santos on YouTube so I don’t know if that’s because it’s just not that well known or if it’s not a particularly good palette. Hopefully, it’s the former!  

So without further ado, let’s get into it!  

___

dsc00304dsc00305dsc00306dsc00308dsc00307

___

dsc00324-edited2dsc00327-copy-edited

I used:

Eyes

Row 1, 4 on my lid up to browbone as my base

Row 2, 5 on my inner and outer corners and a little in my crease to lightly connect the two sides

Row 8, 7 in the centre of my eyes

Row 1, 1 in the very inner corner as a highlight

Face

Row 1, 1 as my highlight

Row 1, 4 as my bronzer

Row 2, 2 as my blush

Lips

1, 8 all over

___

First Impression

I wanted to play around with colour on the eyes to really see what the palette could do, but the purple I chose wasn’t as pigmented as I was expecting, it had a lot of fallout and I just really wasn’t very happy with the eye look. I’m not sure if I needed to use an eye primer to really make it pop or to wet my brush maybe, so I’ll try again at some point and get back to you all on that! The other colours that I used though, were very good and I don’t remember there being any fallout from those!

I really like the face products and I loved the lip colour – it felt lovely on my lips and it wore really well, too!

I’m definitely going to try a different technique to apply the brighter colours for a better colour pay off – maybe that’s where this look went wrong!

Also, the starred colours on the back of the box are supposedly pressed pigments so I’m looking forward to seeing what they’re like!

So, overall – I’m not ruling this palette out just yet!

___

EDIT – I have since used this palette to create a much more neutral eye look and I was really impressed with how the look came out! The shadows I used were very pigmented and although there was a little bit of fallout, I wasn’t too bothered about it.

white_square-01

 Instagram | Twitter | 

4 Replies to “NYX Beauty School Dropout Alumni Palette – The Whole Shebang!”

Leave a Reply

